2014 Nobel Prize in Physics: LED there be light

From the first oil lamp centuries ago to the recent white LED lamp, scientists have been striving to brighten up our homes and streets. Today, nearly one fourth of the world’s electricity consumption is used for lighting. 

The 2014 Nobel Prize in Physics has been awarded to three scientists for their invention of a new energy-efficient light source, with the creation of modern LED light bulbs.

Professor Shuji Nakamura along with Isamu Akasaki and Hiroshi Amano have been awarded the Nobel Prize for developing the blue light-emitting diode (LED).

Take a look at our graphic below to commemorate their achievements.